5 comments on “Abnormal is Normal

  1. this really broke my heart to read, particularly when you point out that there are still victims–all over, right now, feeling stuck and hurt and afraid.

    you endured so much, I almost don’t have any words. happy five monthiversary though :)

    I’ve seen that, the more removed you are from the abuse, the clearer it becomes. but yes, you really outlined it well–it starts with what can only be called brainwashing. You’re brainwashed into believing that everything that follows makes sense or is somehow normal. It becomes embarrassing to admit to yourself or anyone else that these things are happening. For me, I was so ashamed that I stayed, so it was almost better to just talk about the good things, so that I wouldn’t be judged.

    and after the brainwashing, it becomes so difficult to even recognize the abuse, and that becomes the hugest barrier to escaping.

  2. I like this post very much. I will certainly be back. Hope that I can examine a lot more insightful posts then. Will be sharing your knowledge with all of my associates!

  3. Reblogged this on and commented:
    This is an incredibly well written article about the escalation of abuse and how insidious the process of that is, and what people in abusive relationships need to look out for. This actually had me on the edge of my seat.

Leave a Reply

