4 comments on “Compassion Can Move Mountains

  1. When I was dealing with my family falling apart at the age of 18 (big secrets etc. etc.) I worked part time at a grocery store… I would go off to the candy aisle and just kneel down and weep every half hour or so. It’s crazy to think of now, almost feels like it wasn’t me.

    People have a way of coming into my office to have their breakdowns. I have a drawer in my desk full of tissues and candy and eye drops and tampons and other things for just these moments.

    This was a great story, thank you for sharing it.

    • People seem to come to me a lot, too. I don’t know why, but if it’s what they feel comfortable with, I don’t turn them away. I’ve been there.

      I think when you’re younger it’s even harder to hold things in, because at the age you were then, you are still developing into who you are emotionally versus me in my early to mid thirties. Of course, part of me being able to hold it in and have no one know was out of necessity so I could survive from one day to the next or else be punished severely for it. We do what we have to to get by at the time. For me, it was holding it in like it was dammed back. Until that one day when it was too much. I don’t feel like it was me anymore either… like it was someone else I knew once. It’s so strange the changes we go through.

  2. Reblogged this on freefromhim and commented:
    I never realised that my last post “The Lady on the Train” would resonate with so many others. It saddens me that so many people have also had to suffer alone and have been rejected and ignored in their moments of despair. Picking up The Pieces is a wonderful blog about the heart wrenching subject of abuse. The blog author tells her own story and talks of a similar situation that happened to her. It is important, that in this blogging community, that we share and enjoy but most of all support one another.
    Ros

    • Aww 🙂 You have a new photo up! Love it!

      Thank for the re-blog. I loved your post the second I read it, and I had to write my own commentary with a link to your post. While we will never know what the background of the woman on the train is, what caused her to be in such despair so publicly, I wanted others to think about the immense pain that can be behind those tears. I wanted others to think about taking the unknown into consideration. No one at work would have ever suspected the story I was about to let out the chilly December morning I left.

      But what if they had known? Would they have acted differently? Would they have tried to do something? My own experience tells me generally no, although there some here and there like you and I who extend themselves to comfort others, even in the face of immense scrutiny or discomfort. I always try to take the other person’s circumstances into consideration, and, after living a nightmare like my own, it only became more prominent.

      We never know each other’s stories until we are allowed the opportunity to share them. We should all put each other’s well being first, even a stranger you know you most likely will never see again. Even if it cannot take away the pain we are feeling, it brings us some peace to know that someone cared enough to speak up. This life would be so much easier to get through if we all tried our best to do this.

      Small, heartfelt acts of compassion, mercy, kindness, dignity, and love. Validating each other’s worth and helping build up faith instead of destroying it. A much kinder life, indeed.

      And just think, this woman probably got off the train and called someone after it happened to tell them her story of the kind and gentle stranger on the tube.

      Compassion. I can ever say it enough. I genuinely adore it so.

      Thank you so much for sharing that with us all, Ros 🙂

Leave a Reply

