2 comments on “Page Update — A New Slant on My Dreadfully Out-dated Bio

  1. I can’t begin to express how amazing it felt to start my own blog and publish my admission that I endured domestic abuse. I shared my ‘Underbellies Are Cool” blog entry on Facebook and the response brought tears to my eyes. I spent too many years feeling ashamed and alone. By sharing my ‘secret’ publicly, I took away its power. We are most definately not alone. We are all connected. That feeling of separation is a lie. I loved your update. Very empowering. I look forward to reading more!!

    • There are a few moments in overcoming your abuse that you never forget:
      1. The moment you leave. (The meaning and emotions you have connected to this will change as you heal.)
      2. The first time you share a piece of your story and people overwhelm you with an out-pouring of support (because we are used to being shamed.)
      3. The moment you realize through reading and hearing others’ stories that you are not alone and there are MANY who understand how you feel.
      4. The moment you realize your abuser has lost all power over you.

      Thank you so much for your comment! Sharing your story with others is not only the best thing you can do for yourself. Believe it or not, it is also the best thing you can do for others, the most important of which is because it reveals that feeling of isolation as the lie that it is and allows you to connect with others again on an intimate level. There is nothing more intimate than sharing where we have been, and I am so encouraged that you felt comfortable enough to share yours as well.

Leave a Reply

