9 comments on “Making the Jump

  1. This is awesome! You are awesome! I’ve got a similar vision of creating a “rehab” of sorts for those recovering from Narcissistic abuse; offering Reiki massage, acupuncture, recovery coaching, etc…however Narcissistic abuse isn’t really a “condition” yet according to the medical community, so funding would be difficult, I think.

    However, Domestic Abuse is at the forefront of society. I wish you all the best as you start making phone calls and researching!

    • Kim, with the tactics that are typical of narcissistic abuse, they surely qualify as verbal and emotional… depending on how cruel I am sure gaslighting is also used. What you would need to do is try to find some medical professionals who could help you make your case.. and play up the urgency the effect of the emotional abuse. And those of us who have been abused know the abuser (no matter their behavior and how severe the abuse becomes) starts with emotional and verbal battery. This is their priming phase. You should definitely look into it.

      I actually found the type of property that would be ideal for me at this point…. large, outside town but still close enough, has six bedrooms, and lakefront with provisions made for adding buildings to the property. The existing structures would be perfect for temporary emergency shelter while I get some main use buildings underway. 🙂

  2. Hello, I arrived here via Kim, of Let Me Reach. I am also a survivor and have a blog about Narcissists and DV. I think your idea is wonderful and I wish you all the best in your endeavor. I have decided myself that it is time I put my plan into action; it is more providing women from abusive relationships become self sufficient through a company I want to start.
    I love to see the strength of the women when they make to through the black abyss of pain and abuse and come into the light. A new appreciation for life and a deep desire to help others. I don’t now you but I want to give you a great big hug!!
    You go girl!!
    Kim, I was just reading your comment about DV not really being a medical issue. There are many medical conditions causes by domestic abuse that I am sure could be helped if not eradicated by a clinic like you want to open. For one thing, I attribute my heart attack and subsequent heart failure directly to abuse. Women who have been in a domestic abuse relationship are 70 % more likely to have heart disease. There has also been studies done on Broken Heart Syndrome.
    Plus suicides, severe depression, most have not taken care of themselves for a long time. I was anemic and under weight, other women gain weight. I don’t know if you can convince the powers that be to fund you but I can definitely see the need and benefit to such a program.
    I know I wasted the first year as a zombie trying to function and failing miserably.
    I wish both you ladies much luck with your endeavors.
    I will be following along now to give my moral support Sweetmarie

    • Hi there, welcome to my little corner of the world 🙂 I am glad you made your way here, and I am on my way over to your blog as I type this.

      I am sure it is the conditioning I went through talking, but I am afraid of falling flat on my face. I hear that voice I the back of my mind telling me I am not smart enough to do this, I don’t have experience, blah blah blah. So I will take all the hugs I can get. By nature I am a hugger, so never hesitate 🙂

      I thought I would be looking at properties forever, but I found one that would be perfect. There are pre-existing structures that can be used as temporary sheltering until the main use buildings are constructed. I am already thinking in my head how I would use it and the special needs I would have to get addressed… and I still don’t have a proposal, because I wasn’t planning on being able to find something that fit so perfectly to what I have in my head. That *never* happens! So I have to sit down and do some serious investigation and research in cost and who to make a proposal to to secure funding. I have been bumping the idea around in my head for a year almost, no kidding. But I didn’t feel that at seven months out (I left in Dec 2012) that I was emotionally ready to take on such a huge undertaking.

      I look forward to getting to know you here 🙂 Thank you so much for connecting. And…. You can call me Amy. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

