7 comments on “Clint Smith: The Danger of Silence (TEDTalk)

    • Some others prefer the silence, because then they don’t have to acknowledge and accept that something like this could happen to me… and ultimately that it could happen to them, too. Oddly enough, that’s part of the reason why I speak. My reasons have changed since I first told what I was enduring from getting myself to safety and begin healing to helping others who are currently being abused or trying to figure out the weeks and months after leaving. Mainly it’s to support and encourage others, but it is also important for me to let others know it CAN happen to them and I don’t want it to, so I share. It’s important to let parents know it CAN happen to their children in adolescence. It’s urgent to let them know that it could very well cost someone their life. So if my refusal to be silent is a discomfort, I am okay with that, because it means that they have to face it, and if it’s on their mind, then maybe just maybe if they see something one day, whether it is a family member, friend, or stranger, maybe they will choose to not be silent as well.

      Also, you never know who has endured abuse survived a potentially fatal illness, a horrific car accident, robbery and assault, a veteran struggling after coming home from active duty …. etc. They need encouragement and support, and they need to know they have it. Unless you can hug them or be there with them in person, silence denies the support they need.

      Thank you for your comment.

      • Yes our world is still a pretty superficial place. People will listen to the bad news of others for awhile but then get uncomfortable if it goes on too long or gets too honest and painful. I’ve had the potentially fatal illness (breast cancer 4 times) and the horrific car accident and some people will keep their distance until they feel sure I won’t talk to them about these very painful episodes in my life. I guess that is why I started blogging to send my truths out into the big wide world. Thanks again for this post.

        • You have a lot of strength to come back through all that. It saddens me that people choose to focus on the bad parts so much that they fail to see the encouragement and hope in your story. They need to hear the hard parts and the struggles and suffering and fear and desperation I think as a necessity to fully appreciate the triumphs and how wonderful you being alive truly is. Never feel like you have to silent for anyone.

          I am glad you liked the talk. It touches us all for different reasons I am sure, but it was just so encouraging to me, I had to share.

  1. I love Ted talks and this was another good one. Thanks for posting. It is the way I feel. As hard as I try sometimes to keep my mouth shut, it seems harder and harder to not say what is on my heart.

    • I think people sometimes think that saying what you think is mean, but you can always find a kind way to say something. It isn’t silence that’s the answer, it’s knowing HOW TO USE your voice.

      TEDtalks are wonderful things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

